Edward Gay House: Our Home... Our Community
Since 1994, the Gay House has been home to TACC by providing a warm and safe space for its clients and students. After 15 years of operating in the basement of St. Luke’s Episcopal Church the Vestry permitted TACC to establish the Gay House as its main office in 1991. Under the leadership of Rev. Palmer Temple, TACC's board and staff worked tirelessly to raise funds to support interior renovations of the first floor. Renovation designs were managed by Randy Young of Young Goldstein Architects and Rev. Palmer and his staff moved into the Gay House in March 1994. This strategic move not only signified TACC’s emerging independence but greatly increased its capacity. The new space improved client confidentiality and provided more space for counselors and CPE groups.
Designed by noted architect Walter T. Downing, the Gay House was built in 1895 for Edward S. Gay, a Confederate army captain during the Civil War. Captain Gay, a gallant Confederate officer commissioned at age 17, came to Atlanta from Texas in 1875 when he was appointed Southern Manager of the Insurance Company of North America. He is credited with inspiring Atlanta's development as an insurance center. Gay lived in the house until his death in 1916 and the property remained in his family until 1956. The second owners sold the house to St. Luke’s in 1974.
Greek revival influence is seen in the eight columns surrounding the porch and the decorated frieze around a portion of the facade. The home has 16-inch-thick stone walls and a low-pitched multi-gabled roof. The house is historically significant because of its unique architectural style and is one of the few residences of its era remaining in downtown Atlanta.